Music of the week: Indie.

I saw a post the other day asking readers to take part in a music shuffling type game, the rules were simple; press shuffle and share the first 15 songs that are played. I liked the concept, so much so I came up with a crafty idea of tying it in with my “Music of the week” theme, which this week lands with Indie music.

I have since pressed shuffle on my “Indie” playlist on Spotify and below are the 15 tunes which rolled out.

I’ve been a big fan of indie music for as long as I can remember and whilst my parents can be held responsible for the northern soul influence in my music collection (see previous blog), it’s my siblings who introduced me to indie music and the soundtrack to the 90’s. As the youngest of 4, my older siblings tape decks and later 6 CD changer CD players were regularly spitting out sounds of Ocean Colour Scene, Kula Shaker, Cast and The Charlatans, extending an invitation my way to dive into this whole world of music, fashion and hair styles. I was hooked.

Moving into the noughties and leaving school, my inevitable introduction to music festivals occurred and strengthened the bond between myself and indie music. The noughties also brought more modern indie acts such as The Arctic Monkeys, The Coral, Kasabian and more recently, Catfish and the Bottlemen, all for whom I have developed a love which complements my nostalgic trips down memory lane listening to the Happy Mondays, Oasis and The Stone Roses.

When the sun shines, all that’s needed is an ice cold beverage, a deck chair, some good company – and sunglasses of course – and a banging playlist full of tunes from this genre.

Playlist:

  1. The Seahorses – Love is the Law
  2. The Arctic Monkeys – R U Mine?
  3. The Farm – Groovy Train
  4. The Coral – Dreaming of You
  5. The Stone Roses – She Bangs the Drums
  6. The Maccabees – About Your Dress
  7. Oasis – Shakermaker
  8. Shed Seven – Going for Gold
  9. Happy Mondays – Hallelujah 
  10. White Lies – Farewell to the Fairground
  11. Catfish and the Bottlemen – Pacifier
  12. James – How Was it for You?
  13. The Charlatans – Just When You’re Thinking Things Over
  14. Editors – Ton of Love
  15. Foster the People – Pumped Up Kicks

What’s your favourite?

Peace and Love.

4 thoughts on “Music of the week: Indie.

  1. Great post. Not sure I could choose a favourite out of that list – too many to choose from!

    We have been lucky enough to get tickets to see Catfish & the Bottlemen in Halifax in a couple of week’s time. Can’t wait for that!.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

